MIPS RISC Architecture

 Home > Browse Our Collection > Books > RISC > MIPS RISC Architecture

A complete reference manual to the MIPS RISC architecture, this book describes the user Instruction Set Architecture (ISA), by the R2000, R3000, R4000, and R6000 (collectively known as the R-Series) processors, together with an extension to this ISA. Focusing on the new R4000 and R6000 chips, this book is organized into two major sections: Chapters 1 through 6 describe the characteristics of the CPU, while Chapter 7 through 9 describe the Floating Point Unit (FPU). This book describes the general characteristics and capabilities of each RISC processor, along with a description of the programming model, memory management unit (MMU), and the registers associated with each processor. Also included is an overview of the underlying concepts that distinguish RISC architecture from Complex Instruction Set Computer (CISC) architecture.

Kindly Donated by David Braben

ISBN : 9780135904725

Publisher : Prentice Hall

Author : Gerry Kane and Joseph Heinrich

Format : Paperback: 500 + pages

-Gerry Kane and Joseph Heinrich-




This book may be available to buy :
MIPS RISC Architecture




This exhibit has a reference ID of CH13959. Please quote this reference ID in any communication with the Centre for Computing History.
MIPS RISC Architecture
Click on the Images For Detail

Help support the museum by buying from the museum shop

View all items

Founding Sponsors
redgate Google ARM Real VNC Microsoft Research
Heritage Lottery Funded
Heritage Lottery Fund
Accredited Museum